Goin’ South…

20 Jun

I had a bad day today, and that’s the direction that my mood’s going in: south. As a result of this, I realized that my “bad day playlists” are severly lacking. I don’t listen to enough angry music (the first step to solving a problem is admitting you have a problem…).

There are two directions on can go in with a bad day mix: the first is “I’m going to wallow in self-pity and and spiral downwards as glamorously as possible”, and the second is “I’m going to listen to music that will make me want to flip over a table then come back stronger than ever”.

I’m still on the fence as to which route I’m feelin’ today, so I made a quick little playlist for both:

ROUTE ONE: WALLOWING

  1. The Power of Positive Drinking by Lou Reed (upbeat, yet true to the downward-spiral-message that we’re looking for here)
  2. Torn & Frayed by The Rolling Stones (the jacket’s seen much better days and SO HAVE I)
  3. Everything Is Broken by Bob Dylan (he’s the voice of a generation, and here the voice of the angst-y)
  4. Life Without a Brain by The Rentals
  5. It’s No Good by Depeche Mode (it’s understood… that today sucked)
  6. Sad Song by Lou Reed (need I say more?)

ROUTE TWO: TABLE-FLIPPING

  1. Know Your Rights by The Clash (best way to start an album EVER- “This is a public service announcement with guiiiiiiiiiiitarrrrrrrrrrrrr!”
  2. Juicebox by The Strokes (stop your moping- we got a city to love!)
  3. The Greatest Man That Ever Lived by Weezer (ego pumping is crucial in the sadness-rebound- go you!)
  4. Razorblade by The Strokes (my feelings ARE more important than yours, it’s a Julian Casablancas decree which is the modern day equivalent to be being written in stone- it must be so)
  5. I Found a Reason by The Velvet Underground (ending on a slow note, but instead of “you” being the reason, it’s revenge mwahahahahhahaha)
This is not the best list mix I’ve ever made as it’s last minute and I don’t normally listen to much music in either of these categories (well, “Cassadaga” by Bright Eyes is one of my favorite albums of all time and that’s pretty much Route One from start to finish…) but GOSH DARN IT I TRIED.

Currently listening to: Route One and Route Two, still debating which to give the crown of the day to…

Mission to anyone who reads this: can you think of any more songs to add to either of these lists? Do you have a “rainy day in my soul” playlist?
Leave a Reply

