Fun, Fun, Fun…

28 Jun

…Fun, fun, fun, fun, fun, fun, fun, fun, fun, etc. This is an example of too much of a good thing.

I was listening to an album with my mom this evening (I’d write the name here but it’s not released yet- and yes, I do feel very pretentious writing that), I picked some of my favorites first. She said she liked the tunes but they were a little repetitive, and that got me thinking. I know that the chorus is repeated many times over, but I don’t mind because it’s a chorus I really like. It’s something I want to hear over and over.

Then there’s Jack Johnson. I have a friend who is absolutely over the moon for him and his music, and as many times as I her his songs on repeat in her car I just can’t dig it. All his songs sound the same to me. I’ll start singing one, then melt into another chorus, pop back to the original song’s lyrics, and end with a third song’s verse without noticing. They all have that same easy-going beat, the talky-singy-soothing vocals, same content in the lyrics. She doesn’t mind (or notice, really) the repetitiveness because, like me and the album tonight, it’s something she likes to constantly hear.

It’s all about perspective.

Currently listening to: Happy As Can Be by Cut Off Your Hands (such a fun song, I also really like “Oh Girl” and “Let’s Get Out Of Here”)

4 Responses to “Fun, Fun, Fun…”

  1. Francis June 29, 2011 at 9:27 AM #

    I hate Jack Johnson! :D
    I’m glad I’ve found someone else who does too.

    • blogonlyknows June 30, 2011 at 1:28 AM #

      Strength in numbers! We’re about 3 people short of a picket sign worthy cause, a handful short of an angry mob. To the streets! ;)

  2. lundygras July 3, 2011 at 10:03 PM #

    I’ll join the mob. Someone I mostly respect for his musical tastes was happily waxing poetic on the wonderfulness of Mr. Johnson and proceeded to play a cd’s worth of material. I didn’t get it at all, but I will give the person playing the music a pass this time, as everyone makes a mistake now and then.

    • blogonlyknows July 5, 2011 at 12:42 AM #

      Yes, we all have our bad-hair-day music moments, haha. :) As long as people have other tastes that show more, well, taste they’re cool with me. ;P

Leave a Reply

