Celebrate the News…

29 Jun

Newspapers! Magazines! Television! VITALLY IMPORTANT FACEBOOK STATUS UPDATES! News is all around us, but the only time I really celebrate it is when it arrives biweekly via Rolling Stone.

I rediscovered this August 2010 issue, and realized how important this edition is to me. Surviving all the drool that’ Leo’s cover caused, weeks under my car’s passenger seat mat, and numerous rereads, this bad boy has taken beatings pretty well. Not to hyperbolize my feelings, but I really feel that this issue holds one of two Rolling Stone articles that changed my life.

Life Changing Article Number One:
“Welcome Back, Turntables”


This is the article that made me seriously think about getting a turntable. It all started at the beginning of last year, when I unveiled my “Get Dad to Resurface His Records and Turntable 2010” campaign. I won in a landslide, and on February 13, 2010 vinyl became a part of my life. On that fateful day Dad brought the boxes and turntable up from the basement, wiped off the dust, and let me choose the christening record- Goodbyes and Butterflies by Five Man Electrical Band (I could dedicate a whole post to that album, someday I will).

As soon as that needle dropped and I heard the crackle that won a generation of audiophiles’ hearts, I knew there was no going back. I was hooked. After that we began rediscovering Jim Croche, Simon and Garfunkel, Seals and Crofts, Queen, and a bookcase more. I eagerly awaited visits to my dad’s so I could practice dropping the needle for a specific song (darn you, Paul and Art, for putting “Cecilia” at the very end of your greatest hits record) and turn back the clock forty years. But then the addiction grew, I wanted my own player- wanted, but didn’t want enough to actively pursue it. Then came along this article in Rolling Stone, and I took it as a personal message from the fates telling me to get a move on. So I did. I literally opened up the magazine to that page so often for reference that there’s a permanent dent in the pages and they automatically open up to that article. :)

Being the optimistic dreamer I am, my eyes shot to the high end tables, the flashy ones. After some looking (both at internet reviews and my bank account), I decided that the meat and potatoes Audio Technica AT-LP60 was my guy. Fast-forward to March 9, 2011, the day I adopted my baby and never looked back. Super-fast-forward to today, where I now require milk cartons to hold all my records (how retro college student of me). I work fast.

Without my record player, I don’t think that I’d love The Beach Boys, Duran Duran, The Clash, The Smiths, or The Velvet Underground nearly as much as I do- or even have listened to them much. And that would be a crying shame. Thanks, Rolling Stone, for saving my musical life. I own you one (thousand).

I’ll write about the second life changing article tomorrow, build the suspense! ;)

Currently listening to: John Legend, there’s no music playing and I can STILL hear him in my head- at work my boss usually puts her iPod on shuffle to play on the speakers in the shop, but today it was broken so we had to listen to the same CD all day. All. Day. A.l.l.space.D.a.y.

4 Responses to “Celebrate the News…”

  1. Francis June 30, 2011 at 10:56 AM #

    You’re hooked on the (record player) needle. You’re a record junkie.

    • blogonlyknows June 30, 2011 at 1:03 PM #

      I can quit whenever I want to!!

      *sees record* My preeeeeeeeeecious! Mwahahaha. ;)

  2. lundygras July 3, 2011 at 10:54 PM #

    My favorite part of this post is the bonding time you’re having with your dad. Even better is that music is involved. It’s been quite some time since I had a new music shared experience. I’m sure it has a lot to do with how accessible music is today. When albums were the rage, the first kid on the block to get a new one would invite everyone over to have a listen and then often shared via cassette so you could listen in a car. Today it’s often a solo experience and may just be the down fall of more than just the lucky few of ever hitting super star status. I often wonder what the percentage of people under 25 is that listen to some type of mass media (radio,tv) presentation for their new music. Maybe a topic for another day.

    • blogonlyknows July 5, 2011 at 12:48 AM #

      Our record times have been great bonding material! In Rob Sheffield’s newest book, he talks about how during the 80’s when he was a teenager he and his friends used to gather around the radio and listen to the frowned upon rock songs that were played on late night radio, or as you said going to the lucky kid’s house who had the newest jam- I wish I could experience that! Music is just too darn accessible today! ;P

      About the presentation of new music- I heard recently that some crazy number like 60% of people said they got their new music from Facebook, I think that might have been about people older than 30 though.

Leave a Reply

