Pitter Patter…

3 Jul

Pitter patter, pitter patter, pitter patter… what’s that noise? The sound of a racing heart. My racing heart, in particular, as I listen to Dr. Dog’s cover of “Heart It Races”.

Covers of songs are fickle things. There are some original recordings (off the top of my head, Will Smith’s “Fresh Prince of Bel-Air” theme- and for the record I’m only half joking) so perfect that covers are synonymous with futile attempts. Then on the other side of the board there are songs like “I Fought the Law” where later versions (in this case, the versions performed by The Bobby Fuller Four, The Clash, and most recently Green Day) are much more well known then the original.

I was originally going to say that I’m not the biggest fan of covers, but that’s a big generalization to make, it’s really a case by case decision to make. However, one cover I can say I do absolutely love more than the original is the aforementioned “Heart It Races”. When Architecture in Helsinki first came out with the song, I all but ignored it. Their vocals are too weird for me, their style isn’t my flavor. They’re the pulp in my orange juice, something that I can tolerate but usually try to spare my palette of.

But Dr. Dog’s version… when I saw them at Terminal 5 on February 18 (BOY were they great) I bought one of their 7″, the one that has “Heart It Races” on the B-side. I played it over and over and over, so much so that I almost considered buying an automatic turntable- but apparently not enough to break down and buy a digital copy where I could simply press “replay”. ;P

They brought everything to the song that a good cover requires: respect for the original song, their own spin, an incorporation of their own sound that meshed with the original musicality, and joy. Bake at 350 degrees for 30 minutes, then let cool and you’ve got yourself the recipe for a cover- it’s a family recipe though, so try and keep it to yourself and a few close friends.

Currently listening to: The Kinks’ Low Budget album, I’ve still got “Superman” on my mind- and I’d like to add that they made the same rookie mistake as Simon & Garfunkel did with “Cecilia” on their greatest hits album where they made it the last track of the record side

Leave a Reply

