Cool, Cool Water…

8 Jul

I’m all for nourishing plants and everything, but I am so not into all the rain we’ve been having. And by “all the rain we’ve been having”, I mean the rain today, any rain at all. One drop during a time when I have to be outside is one too many. I’m all for the anti-agua candidate. Viva!

However, I will concede that long, rainy drives with traffic galore do serve a purpose- they’re one of the times I love to listen to Bright Eyes most. I think I’ve mentioned this before, but while Bright Eyes is one of my favorite, favorite bands with Conor Oberst standing tall at one of the people I admire most, I can’t listen to em all the time. It’s not that I don’t love him, it’s that I love him too much. I savor our time together- I’ve already used the fine wine reference before so I’ll have to find a new one, but you get the idea.

Maybe it’s that melancholy weather pairs nicely with the melancholy music? Dark days contrast well with Bright Eyes? The results haven’t come back from the lab yet. All situations I just wrote about in the previous 2 sentences, and the other clever-in-my-head-but-not-so-much-when-written scenarios I scrapped brought “Jujune Stars” to mind. How’d it get so dark… why do I hide from the rain? (Well, I know the answer to that one- it’s because I hate being wet. But Conor probably had something more profound in mind when he posed that query.)

I’ll ask him ’bout that when I SEE HIM IN A MONTH.
^_______________________________________^
There literally aren’t enough underscore pixels in all of cyberspace to make my emoticon happy enough. Even if there were, I don’t have enough hours in the day, muscles in my hand to type them all out. But I’d be perfectly willing to if it’d paint a better picture of my state of mind for you.

Currently listening to: Jujune Stars, skipping the spoken word bit at the end- still can’t get into that

Leave a Reply

