It’s About Time… (Explaining My Love of the Louder Than Bombs Album)

21 Jul

I’ve been mentioning this Smiths’ Louder Than Bombs album, so it’s about time to really explain what it means to me.

It’s probably on my Top 5 Albums list. It’s lovely. Some of the earlier Smiths stuff was a bit too angsty for me, a bit too grungy, a bit to… ya know. Don’t get me wrong, I love them, but I wouldn’t pull out the ring for ’em. For Louder Than Bombs, I’d make polygamy legal just so I could marry it twice.

An Official Breakdown:

Is It Really So Strange? by The Smiths
Track 1, Is It Really So Strange?
“I left the south, I traveled north / I got confused, I killed a horse / I can’t help the way I feel”- Morrissey, you’re one of the only guys who can throw random acts of murder into a song and still make it upbeat and fun. I’m always conflicted as to feel proud or worried.

Sheila Take A Bow by The Smiths
Track 2, Sheila Take A Bow
Simple message: kick the world in the balls and go after love. No smoke and mirrors, just callin’ ’em like they see ’em. You don’t need a world class thesaurus or the simile of the century to make a point.

Half A Person by The Smiths
Track 5, Half A Person
One of my favorite tracks, it just feels so honest. Even though I’ve never actually looked for acceptance at a YMCA, the broader idea goes further than that. “I like it here, can I stay? I like it here, can I stay?”

Panic by The Smiths
Track 7, Panic
The bouncy beat of this song is so similar to “Sheila” that I often find myself crisscrossing the lyrics. I already talked about this song in the last post, but it’s worth mentioning again because the lyric is so great. “Hang the blessed DJ / because the music that they constantly play / it says nothing to me about my life.” Perfect.

William, It Was Really Nothing by The Smiths
Track 10, William, It Was Really Nothing
You know how there are certain words that feel good to say (sassafras, kerfuffle, pup)? This song has combinations of those and it’s a fun one to sing, especially the first few lines (“the rain falls hard on a humdrum town…”).

You Just Haven’t Earned It Yet, Baby by The Smiths
Track 11, You Just Haven’t Earned It Yet, Baby
Listen to this song any time you’re offput by a delay in results. They’re coming, but you just haven’t earned em yet baby. Simplistic. Fantastic.

Heaven Knows I’m Miserable Now by The Smiths
Track 12, Heaven Knows I’m Miserable Now
“In life / why do I smile / at people who I’d much rather kick in the eye?”

PART TWO TOMORROW!

Currently listening to: see above :)

One Response to “It’s About Time… (Explaining My Love of the Louder Than Bombs Album)”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Be Still… (Louder Than Bombs Song-by-Song Part 2) | blogonlyknows - July 24, 2011

    […] couple days ago I started a breakdown of The Smiths’ Louder Than Bombs album. I said I’d finish up the second half the next day, but one day real time is equivalent to […]

Leave a Reply

