How She Boogalooed It… (A Cautionary Tale About Listening to Groovy Songs In Public Places)

16 Aug

This is indeed a cautionary tale; it happened to me and it could certainly happen to you… none are safe from Hall and Oates’ “You Make My Dreams Come True”.

I love this song. It’s one of those tunes that I can have one repeat for an hour and still maintain the same excited anticipation for those opening notes. It always brings a smile to my face and a sway to body. The smile I can handle and wholeheartedly welcome, it’s the groovin’ that can sometimes get in the way. When I’m in the comfort and solitude of my home- sure, let’s take a nod from Tommy boy circa “Risky Business” and wiggle like a jellyfish. Blub, blub, shuffle, blub!

But the subway… not so much. Today I was totally in the zone: on my hour-long train ride I had a great playlist going, then on the subway it was all dreamin’ with Daryl and John. And when I say “in the zone”, well, it was like all the tourists, businessmen, creeps, foreigners, and the odd normal person weren’t even there. It started with a foot tap, then a head bob, then finger snapping, then present day “Grease” (well, maybe not that far, but I was definitely dancing). My eyes were closed- cutting off one sense strengthens the others and I wanted to devote all my being to listening. I don’t know what snapped me out of it, but as soon as I caught myself and realized the silly girl I was looking like I slowly came to a halt and drew the curtains on my oculi curtains. A few faces. A few amused faces. Oh well, I guess it was just my turn to be “that girl” on the subway today. ;)

Haha, literally just as I finished writing the song came on. Oh, Fates, I like your sense of humor.

2 Responses to “How She Boogalooed It… (A Cautionary Tale About Listening to Groovy Songs In Public Places)”

  1. Francis August 17, 2011 at 12:21 AM #

    Have you seen Yacht Rock? Hall and Oats make an appearance.

    There are about 11 epps I think.

    • blogonlyknows August 28, 2011 at 2:41 PM #

      Hah I hadn’t seen this before but it’s so great- those two are looking great for their age! ;)

Leave a Reply

