September Radio Shows…

14 Jan

One thing that I had really wanted to do last semester was keep a record of the playlists I played on my radio show, but after the first week I severely slacked. Luckily, I did write them down elsewhere and now that the mood is striking me, I’m bringing them home. So, I apologize for the inundation posts that are coming up, but I will not apologize for my rad mixes and excellent taste in tuneage! :)

9/21/2011 Playlist

1. My Heart Is Calling by Cataldo
2. She Blinded Me With Science by Thomas Dolby
3. The Ark by Dr. Dog
4. Pa Pa Power by Dead Man’s Bones
5. Enola Gay by Orchestral Maneuvers in the Dark
6. The Richest Kids by This Is Ivy League
(Cobra Starship came to play a concert at my school the following Saturday, so I plugged the event after this song, as two of the members of Cobra make up this indie band)
7. Twin Peaks by Surfer Blood
(This semester I took a class called Intro to Film and Media Studies, and the graded portion of the class consisted of three essays and a presentation, all analyzing and focusing on a single movie or TV episode of our choosing. So I’d have an excuse to watch the series over and over and be able to call it “studying,” I chose the pilot episode of “Twin Peaks”)
8. Sneaky Times by Birds & Batteries
9. Evident Utensil by Chairlift
10. Puttin’ On The Ritz by Taco
11. Lolita by Throw Me The Statue
12. Do You Wanna Dance (Early Take) by The Beach Boys
13. Marathon by Tennis
14. Bury Us Alive by Starfucker
15. Cosmic Dancer by T. Rex
16. All Yr Songs by Diamond Rings
17. Experimental Film by They Might Be Giants

_______________________________________

9/28/2011 Playlist

 1. I’m The Greatest by Ringo Starr
(I heard “You’re Sixteen” on the radio a couple months ago, and ever since then Ringo’s been a frequent member of my playlists)
2. The Rescue Blues by Ryan Adams
(I was walking in town, talking about this song with a friend when someone leaning up against a building turned his head and said “Ryan Adams? Yeah!!” which made me laugh, and proud that someone knew the difference between Bryan Adams and Ryan Adams)
3. Moan (Trentemoller Vocal Remix featuring Ane Trolle) by Trentemoller
4. Run by Air
(I first heard Air in a “Veronica Mars” episode, and when it ended I immediately looked up everything by them. Didn’t love everything else of theirs as it got a little repetitive after a while, but I did really like “Talkie Walkie,” the album that this song and “Cherry Blossom Girl” are on)
5. I Think We’re Alone Now by Crotty Chops
6. Stay Loose by Belle & Sebastian
7. Doctor Worm by They Might Be Giants
(A must for any solid playlist, hehe)
8. Furr by Blitzen Trapper
9. Sweet Pea by Amos Lee
10. The Geeks Get the Girls by American Hi-Fi
11. Af en Af by Kurt Darren
(When I was in South Africa, Kurt Darren was a favorite to dance to and was the person who taught me the most Afrikaans through his singing, haha)
12. One Life Stand by Hot Chip
13. Lost in the Supermarket by The Clash
14. There Is A Light That Never Goes Out by The Smiths
15. I’ll Be Your Friend by Bright Eyes
Leave a Reply

