We’re Together Again… (First Day of Classes!)

17 Jan

Oh homework, how much I missed our toxic relationship; day one of classes and I’m already sick of you.

The most miraculous thing about the first day of school last semester was the fact that my legs stopped wobbling enough throughout the day so I was able to physically make it to my classes. It had been a while, and the thought of it all was the most fearsome element. Well, it was until I listened to my theme song of the day.

On the train ride down to the campus in late August, my dad gave me a piece of paper with a song and artist on it and a dollar to buy said song. He said that I should play it while I walked to my first class on my first day to pump me up and put a little strut in my step. Music is my medicine, and “Hold Your Head Up” by Argent definitely did the trick. While walking to places in the morning I usually go for The Beach Boys, but I made an exception this one time. I didn’t let myself listen to the song before my walk so I’d be surprised and extra excited. 8:15AM, out my door, down three flights of stairs, on to the quad, press play. Drum drum drum drummmmmm, drum drum drum powwwwwwww! After the first note I was hooked, and my head was definitely held high! It’s amazing how great an effect a song can have on a mood, and this one energized me and totally took my mind away from my worries.

So, even though I’m a seasoned one semester veteran now, I dug that song up from my iTunes catalog and jammed out to it on my ridiculously early walk today. And the only bonus about my class being on the second floor of the farthest building on campus? I got to listen to the song twice!

One Response to “We’re Together Again… (First Day of Classes!)”

  1. lundygras January 19, 2012 at 8:17 AM #

    That song brings back memories for me.(semi long story ahead)
    It was Christmas time and we had come down stairs to see what was under the tree. I didn’t notice these two big boxes at first. They were kind of tucked behind the tree and out of reach. When we finally got down to business and reduced the pile size with our youthful ripping and tearing of wrapping paper, I was finally able to see that they had my name on them. When I peeled the paper back, I had just gotten my first stereo! Prior to that, I had only ever had a transistor radio and the only record player in the house was built into a big cabinet with a door that opened folding down like some clothes dryers do these days.
    My new stereo was the bomb, and a three in one unit. I now not only had an AM/FM radio, but also an 8 track player and a turntable. It also had 2 stand alone speakers that stood about 18 inches tall. I couldn’t wait to get it set up. As we finished up the unwrapping, my parents handed me what turned out to be my very first album.
    That album was “Believe in Music” 22 Greatest Hits by K-Tel. You have probably been thinking, “Tim, get to the point already!” :) Drum roll please…… The 22 Greatist Hits are:
    Side One:
    Brandy (You’re A Fine Girl) – Looking Glass
    Beautiful Sunday – Daniel Boone
    Sunny Days – Lighthouse
    How Do You Do? – Mouth & MacNeil
    Long Cool Woman – Hollies
    Go Away Little Girl – Donny Osmond
    Back Stabbers – O’Jays
    Go All The Way – Raspberries
    Fly Pretty Baby – Andy & David Williams
    Maggie May – Rod Stewart
    Sealed With A Kiss – Bobby Vinton

    Side Two:
    Gypsys, Tramps & Thieves – Cher
    Sylvia’s Mother – Dr. Hook & The Medicine Show
    Sweet & Innocent – Donny Osmond
    Hold Your Head Up – Argent
    Let It Rain – Eric Clapton
    Let Your Yeah Be Yeah – Brownsville Station
    No – Bulldog
    Money Back Guarantee – Five Man Electrical Band
    Speak To The Sky – Rick Springfield
    Down By The River – Albert Hammond
    I Believe in Magic – Gallery
    Quite a list don’t you think? The songs that got the most play were Hold Your Head Up and Long Cool Woman. A close second were Brandy, Gypsys, Tramps and Thieves and Let It Rain. I think I could have done without the 2 selections from Mr. Osmond if truth be told.
    Thanks for letting me tell that story and I hope you are having a great day!
    Thanks for giving me a chance to tell that story anbd I hope you are having

Leave a Reply

